Skip navigation

hainanThe United States protested to Chinese authorities in Beijing and to the defense attache in Washington over the incident, which occurred on Sunday in the South China Sea, about 75 miles (120 kilometers) south of Hainan Island.

The Pentagon said Chinese boats moved directly in front of the USNS Impeccable, forcing the ship to take emergency action to avoid a collision, and then dropped pieces of wood into its path.

Beijing hit back on Tuesday rejecting that account and demanding the United States cease what it called illegal activities in the South China Sea.

I was in Hainan for this last Christmas holiday. I did not know there was a big naval base there, but I guess it is not surprising given the island’s location.

Seems to me that the US is being a bit beligerent with this. What would happen if a Chinese ship came within 75 miles of the US coast? It would probably be destroyed.

5 Comments

  1. I just saw a link to this story at the bottom of one of my posts; I’m in south Hainan now and watched as some Chinese naval ships sailed back in to port yesterday. I did manage to capture a shot of (what looked like) a destroyer and a tender ship. I’ll put them up in the next day or two and track a link back to you.

    In regard to your comments – I would think that most Americans would go ballistic if the Chinese ran drills off the coast of Los Angeles…

  2. here’s a link to the photos that I took of the Chinese naval ships a few days ago:

    http://scotttraveler.wordpress.com/2010/02/09/chinese-navy/

    • Scott,

      Thanks for the photos. I know the Chinese are investing heavily in their navy, gotta protect the trade routes, etc. But I wonder if it is really justified. Protection from pirates off Somalia, sure, but you hardly need a huge navy for that.

      • I don’t think they need a huge navy, but I’m an American. I suppose that if I was a Chinese person and America was running drills off my coast, I’d have room to argue that a bigger navy was needed. Kind of a catch-22 for us I suppose; we argue they don’t need it but then stir the hornet’s nest anyways… in regards to America’s military: no threat = no funding.

  3. This is a terrific site, could you be involved in doing legal representative about
    how you developed it? If you do e-mail me! Many thanks,
    I’ve been seeking for info about this topic forever and yours is the perfect I’ve discovered this all time.
    Thanks on the marvelous article! I genuinely enjoyed reading it,
    you might be an awesome writer.I’m able to be sure to bookmark your site and may often keep returning someday. I must encourage yourself to continue your great job, have a great nice weekend!


Leave a Reply

